Democrats Release Sequester Hit List With 27 GOP Targets

Who says the campaign season ends?

  • Share
  • Read Later


Who says campaign season ends? With a deadline fast approaching before unwise spending cuts automatically take effect, the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee staff has released a list of 27 Republican members of Congress they hope suffer the most from the coming public outrage. The list includes suburban districts near Orlando, Fla., and military districts, like Scott Rigell’s seat along Virginia’s coastline. All will be blitzed today with low-fi, low-cost online ads with horror movie soundtracks along the lines of this one.

Picking up the House remains an outside shot for Democrats in 2014, when the composition of the electorate is likely to once again favor Republicans. But that doesn’t mean a pound of flesh or two can’t be excised in the meantime. Republicans enter the latest game of bluff with the White House with a distinct disadvantage in the polls. And Democrats are decidedly acting far more giddy about this coming fight than Republicans.

The full list of targeted members follows. If you are reading from one of these districts, know that your opinion is likely to matter far more than most Americans over the coming weeks in deciding how this latest standoff gets resolved.

Andy Barr (KY-06)
Dan Benishek (MI-01)
Tom Cotton (AR-04)
Rick Crawford (AR-01)
Mike Coffman (CO-06)
Steve Daines (MT-AL)
Rodney Davis (IL-13)
Jeff Denham (CA-10)
Mike Fitzpatrick (PA-08)
Chris Gibson (NY-19)
Tim Griffin (AR-02)
Michael Grimm (NY-11)
Joe Heck (NV-03)
Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA-03)
David Joyce (OH-14)
John Kline (MN-02)
Tom Latham (IA-03)
Gary Miller (CA-31)
Erik Paulsen (MN-03)
Tom Reed (NY-23)
Scott Rigell (VA-02)
Jon Runyan (NJ-03)
Steve Southerland (FL-02)
David Valadao (CA-21)
Jackie Walorski (IN-02)
Dan Webster (FL-10)
Bill Young (FL-13)