John Boehner Elected Speaker

  • Share
  • Read Later

The House just completed its vote, electing John Boehner the 61st Speaker of the House 241-192.

The most interesting part of the vote were the defections from Nancy Pelosi, who garnered 173 votes:

-11 Democrats voted for Heath Shuler, a North Carolina Democrat and former Washington Redskin who had said he would challenge Pelosi in a vote to protest the 63 seats lost under he watch. Most of the votes represented the survivors of the decimated Blue Dog Coalition. Jason Altmire (PA-04), Dan Boren (OK-02), Jim Cooper (TN-05), Joe Donnelly (IN-02), Tim Holden (PA-17), Larry Kissell (NC-08), Mike McIntyre (NC-07), Jim Matheson (UT-02), Michaek Michaud (ME-02), Mike Ross (AR-04) and Heath Shuler (NC-11).

-Two Dems voted for civil rights giant Rep. John Lewis, a Georgia Democrat. John Barrow (GA-12) and Gabby Giffords (AZ-08).

-Jim Costa (CA-20) voted for Dennis Cardoza, Cardoza (CA-18) voted for Jim Costa.

-Ron Kind (WI-03) voted for Jim Cooper (TN-05)

-Dan Lipinski (IL-03) voted for Marcy Kaptur (OH-09)

-Kurt Schrader (Or-05) voted for Steny Hoyer (MD-05)

-Sanford Bishop (GA-02) voted present

-And Pete DeFazio (OR-04), a noted Pelosi critic, didn’t vote at all.

So, 20 Democrats either didn’t vote for Pelosi or voted for someone else. That’s just over 10% of her 193-member caucus. The Republicans have 242 seats — Boehner, as is tradition, did not vote.